Little Victories

Today called for a celebration. For one of these:

This is my favourite mug, as it happens. Keeps tea hot for ages and ages and holds a lot of tea, too.

What am I celebrating today, you ask? What deserves this wonderful mug  of chai tea with whole milk (not semi) and a dash of honey?

Today I made it home before the seizure. Today I did not collapse on the pavement. Today I did not need help.

I made it home. I made it up the stairs. I made it to my living room and then I keeled over. Not before. Not while I was out. Not crossing the road. Not on the path outside. Not when I was struggling to unlock the door. Not even when passers by gave me odd looks because I couldn’t walk straight.

I made it home. I fought to keep my head straight and as far as I’m concerned? I won. I might have had a seizure anyway, but I didn’t drop until I was in a safe space. So, now that I’m upright again – with a fair old headache, and snuggled in my dressing gown because I have the shivers – I’m celebrating. Here’s to small victories. Here’s to something I wish I could take for granted. Here’s to walking all the way home.

Leave a Reply

